The National Basketball Association's (NBA) postseason tournament, which is held to elect the league's champion, is known as the NBA playoffs

The National Basketball Association’s (NBA) postseason tournament, which is held to elect the league’s champion, is known as the NBA playoffs. The NBA playoffs, a yearly best-of-seven elimination competition, are held following the league’s regular season and its preparatory postseason competition, the NBA play-in competition.

The NBA playoff information you need is provided here, including the seeding of the teams and the series format.

In the NBA playoffs, how many teams are there?

Eight teams from each of the NBA’s two conferences (East and West) compete in 16 teams in the postseason. According to their regular-season win-loss records, the teams in each conference are ranked. Each conference’s top six winningest teams advance straight to the postseason. The remaining four berths are then decided in a play-in competition amongst each conference’s seventh- to tenth-placed teams.

What is a play-in competition?

Since 2021, a play-in tournament has been used to determine each conference’s final two playoff slots. The teams that finish seventh through tenth in each forum compete in the game against one another in a format that combines single- and double-elimination. The victor of the first match between the eighth- and seventh-placed teams receives the seventh Seed in their conference. The losing team is eliminated after the ninth-placed team plays the tenth-placed team. The victor of the second game will then compete for the eighth Seed against the loser of the first game.

NBA play-in scheduled for 2023


Minnesota Timberwolves (8) vs. Los Angeles Lakers (7)

Oklahoma City Thunder (10), at New Orleans Pelicans (9).


Atlanta Hawks (#8) vs. Miami Heat (#7)

Chicago Bulls (10) vs. Toronto Raptors (9)

The Heat, Hawks, Timberwolves, and Lakers made it to the postseason.

The NBA playoff seeds are what?

Based on their regular-season record, the top six teams in each conference are seeded from 1 to 6. The top Seed in each conference goes to the team with the best form, the lowest source to the team with the worst record, and so on. When there is a tie, the side with the better head-to-head record will receive the higher Seed. If both are equal, the divisional champion team gets the higher source. The third tie-breaker is the win-loss record versus other teams in their division, should both or neither team be crowned divisional winner.

If none of those criteria results, the win-loss percentage against conference teams is the last line of defence. The play-in tournament determines the seventh and eighth seeds in each conference. After the NBA All-Star break in the middle of the regular season, the competition for playoff spots heats up as the season progresses.

What happens in the NBA playoffs?

A best-of-seven elimination system is used for the playoffs. Two teams play each other up to seven times, and the team that wins four games goes to the next round. Each conference’s top Seed faces off against the eighth Seed, the second and third seeds, the fourth and fifth seeds, and so on. The conference finals are held in the third round, whereas the conference semifinals are in the second round.

The NBA Finals are where the teams that advance from each conference play to determine the champion. The team with the best regular-season record receives a home-court advantage in each round. The format for a playoff series is 2-2-1-1-1 home/away. As a result, of the seven games in a series, the team with the higher. Games 1, 2, 5, and 7 are held at Seed’s residence.

The NBA playoffs begin when

The play-in tournament, which lasted from April 11 to April 14, marked the start of the 2023 NBA playoffs. On April 15, the playoffs’ opening round got underway. The 2023 Finals must begin by June 1 and end by June 18; the playoffs last roughly two months.

NBA Playoffs Finals begin in 2023

On June 1, Game 1 of the NBA Finals will occur between the two conference champions. June 4, June 7, and June 9 are the dates set for Games 2 through 4. The last three games are slated for June 12, 15, and 18 (the series is decided by the best of seven games).

NBA Playoffs of 2006 controversy

There was controversy around the playoff structure used for the NBA playoffs in 2004–05 and 2005–06. Therefore, it was altered before the 2006–07 NBA season. The division champions were assured the top two seeds before 2004 when the NBA was divided into two conferences, each with two divisions. It meant that, provided they both advanced to the conference finals, the top two teams in a conference could never face off before the conference finals.

The NBA divided its two conferences into three divisions, but the seeding procedures generally stayed the same. Division champions would henceforth receive one of the top three seeds. However, the top two teams (by record) in a conference would be seeded first and fourth if they were in the same division. It increased the possibility that the top two teams in the league would play each other in the conference semifinals rather than the conference finals, assuming there were no first-round upsets.

Southwest Division teams Dallas Mavericks and San Antonio Spurs, who had the two best records in the Western Conference, did just that in the second year of this structure, the 2005–06 NBA season. Due to this change of events, the playoff structure was heavily criticised.

The NBA announced a regulation adjustment in August 2006. Each conference’s top four seeds would be seeded based on their win-loss records starting in the 2006–2007 season, “guaranteeing that the top two teams in each conference cannot meet until the conference finals.”


This article covered every aspect of the NBA Playoffs. How do the NBA playoffs work? Everything is covered in our guidebook. The NBA playoffs are the postseason competition staged to choose the league champion of the National Basketball Association (NBA). Following the league’s regular season and its preseason competition, the NBA play-in competition, the NBA playoffs, and a yearly best-of-seven elimination competition are conducted.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *